Opinion on My First $1000 Build

chensteven

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2011
Hi, this is my first time building a PC. I've been reading and researching. I was wondering if anyone can look over my build and provide feedback or suggestions? My budget is around $1000, and I've been price matching, so right now it's around $1000. The goal of this build is to allow me to play games such as SC2, D3, Dota 2, BF3 at a high setting while allowing me to multi-task or doing things on Adobe and other apps. I will also be dual screening as well, so multi-tasking is an important factor for me. I'm trying to spend as least as possible, so I'm fine with any other cheaper alternatives that can provide the same performances.

I do have some questions tho;

Should I get a different motherboard?
Different GTX 560 Ti?
Different HD? (or should I get a SDD and a HD? if so, what SDD?)
Different case? (or can someone suggest a an ideal case that can fit all these components?)
Different power supply?

Thanks guys.

Processor:

Intel Core i5 2500K Quad Core Unlocked Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB

Motherboard:

ASUS P8P67 Pro REV3.0 ATX P67 LGA1155 DDR3 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI Sandy Bridge B3 Motherboard

RAM:

G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory

Graphics Card:

MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II OC 880MHZ 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini-HDMI DX11 PCI-E Video Card

Hard Drive:

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM

Case:

Coolermaster Haf 912 Black Mid Tower ATX Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS Front USB Sound

or

Coolermaster Haf 922 Mid Tower ATX Case Black 5X5.25 5X3.5INT Front Audio USB eSATA No PSU

Power Supply:

Antec High Current Gamer 750W 24PIN ATX12V V2.3 Active PFC 80 Plus Bronze SLI Power Supply 135mm Fan

Cooling:

Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus Direct Touch 4 Heatpipe Heatsink AM2 AM3 LGA1366 LGA1155 LGA1156 120MM

DVD Burner:

ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24X SATA DVD Writer OEM Black

Solution