Cooler Master RR-B10-212P-G1 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
MSI 785GM-E51 Micro ATX AM3 Motherboard
Corsair 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1333 Memory
Seagate SV35 Series 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
XFX Radeon HD 6670 1GB Video Card
Cooler Master Elite 330 ATX Mid Tower Case
Antec 430W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply
Samsung SH-222AB DVD/CD Writer

This is my first build and I am trying to get it under $500. What do you guys think? I was thinking of changing the motherboard to MSI 870-G45. Any suggestions will be highly appreciated. Also, I don't mind investing in a SSD as I can use it later. Will it significantly increase the performance?

The main function of the PC is to work on the internet, writing, emails etc. I will also like to play some old games like Mass Effect, GTA 4 etc. very occasionally.

More about : build suggestions

July 27, 2011 1:56:49 PM

You might want to take a look at an AMD A8-3850 + HD 6xxx series graphics in Hybrid Crossfire, along with a Socket FM1 mobo. You need DDR-1600 to get good performance with this combo, and it won't run on any OS except Windows 7.

An SSD will have a good effect on your day to day computing (opening web browser, Office, iTunes, etc, will be much snappier), if you can fit a 64GB into your budget, go ahead. 32GB isn't really worth it, considering a clean install of Windows 7 64-bit takes up about 30GB.

With a tight budget build, see if you can get a case + PSU - might save you a few bucks over buying the two separately.
m
l
July 27, 2011 2:01:34 PM

Thanks,

But I forgot to mention that I live in India and I am not sure if AMD A8 will be available here. What do you think of the overall configuration?

I am not too sure about the motherboard. Can someone recommend me a good motherboard to go with the system?
m
l
Related resources
July 27, 2011 2:44:41 PM

Quote: