Sign in with
Your question
Solved

1st Timer - Any general tips before putting this new build together?

Last response: in Systems
July 27, 2011 5:24:27 PM

Hello TH members! :)  Everyone here has been truly great in helping me find answers about the parts I am using; but now the moment of truth is upon me: I am about to start actually building. You can see the parts I am using by glancing down at my signature. This is my first time ever putting together and matching this many components (I've only ever done minor upgrades in the past), and I was simply curious if there were any general "rules of thumb" to follow when assembling a new system.

For instance, when applying the thermal compound, I've read that some people just press the heatsink down over the application laid directly on the processor; and some actual apply the goop, then use something like a credit card to smooth it out over the entire CPU. I've only ever worked with pre-built (i.e. Dell, Compaq, HP, etc.) Intel-based systems in my lifetime; is there anything different to the "science" of AMD systems, particularly the Athlon II line?

I look forward to any and all guidance that anyone may be kind enough to offer; especially from those having knowledge of or previous experience with these specific parts or something similar. Thanks in advance! :) 
July 27, 2011 5:28:08 PM

I put the thermal compound in the middle of the CPU like about the size of a dime. Then I place the heatsink on it. The thermal compound spreads out and covers the area that needs it most anyway. You should find a good clear area for building, and away from possible static shocks. You don't want to ruin anything.
Related resources

Best solution

July 27, 2011 7:11:41 PM

Anti static wrist strap - just incase :) 
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Anti-static-Wristband-Wrist-S...

NewEgg do a great build video on youtube aswell pretty much showing each stage and what to do and how to do it. Really worth checking out before you dive right in.