No internet

wayneposnick

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2011
Hello, I am new to win 7 but very versed in XP and older. My new win 7 DT connects to my LAN and I can see the other devices. It will not route out to the Internet. IP, GW and DNS are all correct. This is a new OEM win 7 system. All other machines can see the Internet. What stupid thing am I not doing correctly?

all you need to do in win7 is make sure that it is set up as DHCP (which it is by default), or if you have a specialized network to enter in your settings like you do in win2K/XP/ME/98/95/Vista. They really havent changed much over the years as far as the user interface is concerned.
It is much more likely (especially as you can see the internal network), that there is a setting in your router/gateway that is preventing you from getting to the internet. Make sure too that you have not acidently assigned the same IP address to 2 devices as that can do odd things like what you are describing.

wayneposnick

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2011
Yes, it is set as DHCP and it is getting a valid address from my firewall/router. Everything looks normal when I do a ipconfig /all. I am baffled. I have tried a /release and /renew as well. I can see everything fine on the LAN but it acts like it is ignoring the DNS or something. DNS is also correct on this machine...same as all the other XP Pro machines. BTW, this is Win 7 Pro.

wayneposnick

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2011
Okay, Please see below....

I can ping the GW (.254) but cannot get out to do NSLOOKUP on google.com. 209.98.98.98 is one of my DNS entries.

My LAN is pretty simple. Have about 15 devices, Win xp, printers, win CE, network appliances (audio, etc), WiFi access points, NAS and my GW/DHCP server is a Watchguard FW appliance. In front of the Watchguard is a Proxicast 3g/4g router.
I do not know what slhpss is however.

Please see below.....

Pinging 192.168.201.254 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.201.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64