Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Need Suggestion on Graphics Upgrade

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 24, 2011 7:50:25 AM

Hi everyone,

i'm new to building but i just built my first system with the specs below, and loving it, plays all my games (like BC2, Crysis 2) and the whole lot cost me $500 flat so i'm very happy, i was thinking if later i wanted to upgrade graphics for newer games and keep playing with good framerates and settings (i pull about 70-110FPS on both those games on high settings, at what point am i being held back by my cpu or other things when upgrading graphics(willing to replace PSU) i'd also love to screen record well, and is that based on cpu speeds or a bit of everything.
thanks for your help :) 
a c 163 U Graphics card
May 24, 2011 9:11:47 PM

With your CPU and system specs, the 5770 is probably the weak link. Does not sound like you are running on very high resoltuion if you can get over 70 frames on those games on high settings.
Score
May 25, 2011 10:41:44 AM

i'm running it at 1360x768, and about 1280x768 on my games, so with that cpu, how high range can i look, or can i not worry about ever being limited by my cpu and just go for my price range, and if i even did upgrade cpu, would it make a difference or is it mostly on graphics card? thanks
Score
Related resources
May 25, 2011 10:43:13 AM

sorry 1080x768 on BC2 i think
Score
a c 376 U Graphics card
May 25, 2011 10:46:08 AM

The HD5770 is more than capable for the resolutions you are talking about. Your CPU is more likely to limit things but for now it should be fine.
Score

Best solution

a c 163 U Graphics card
May 25, 2011 1:35:22 PM