Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First Time Build Advice: BF3

Last response: in Systems
July 30, 2011 1:34:30 AM

Hey guys I have been strictly a console gamer, but the mind blowing graphics on Battlefield3 preview made me a PC gamer believer and I am in the process of building my first rig, newbie here. Here is my planned setup. I have all the components except a SSD & the Silver Arrow. I will be using 1920x1080 3 multiple displays, possible 3d .

Questions:
1.I will be installing the computer this weekend. My Silver Arrow wont be in until next week and i will be busy the next few weeks with work. Is it easy to install the factory i5 fan now and then remove and install the Silver Arrow at a later date?

2.Will the i5 2500k stock speeds bottleneck the system? Is it safe to overclock i5 much with the stock fan?

3.Is there much of a real world difference in SSD sata2 vs sata3? Load times of OS and games? Any links of benchmarks? I was looking at Crucial M4 with 415MB/s read time, but its very expensive....

4. Any site to download Windows 7 OS at a good price? Or just buy from store?

5.Any comments on the 6970 CF with setup for Battlefield 3.

-Asus Z68 Pro mobo
-i5 2500k (will OC)
-Thermalright Silver Arrow cooler(Dont have yet)
-Gskill 8gb DDR3 1600 @ 1.5v CL8
-Diamond HD 6970 x2 Xfire
-Corsair 1050w professional series (for double or triple SLI future upgrades)
-Samsung Spinoint F3 HHD
-SSD 128GB- (sugguestion?)
-Cooler Master haf x 942
-disc drive(undecided)

Thank for all the help guys.

More about : time build advice bf3

Best solution

July 30, 2011 1:43:46 AM

windows 7, on sale for $80 with promo code EMCKCHB36, i highly doubt you will find it cheaper:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

looks like a beautiful build. you will be able to install the silver arrow later. you could probably overclock the i5 a bit with no fan, but theres going to be no reason to do so at the moment, just wait.