P9X79 Deluxe CPU_LED red

sadatquoraishi

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2012
Please help, this is my first build and I'm quite disappointed I've spent so much money and it isn't even POSTing!

My system:
Motherboard: Asus P9X79 Deluxe
CPU: i7-3930K
Memory: Mushkin 993997 16GB (4x4GB, 9-11-10-28)
VGA: Zotac GTX 680
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000W

I also have connected to PCI-E slots:
Asus Xonar D2X sound card
Hauppauge Colussus video capture card
Blackgold 3600 TV tuner

And a Samsung SSD, 4 hard drives, and 2 optical drives.
All the above are connected up.

The problem is this:
On turning the system on, the CPU_LED on the motherboard lights up red and stays lit.
The Q-LED diagnostic display displays 00 (description in manual for this code is 'Not used').
There is no output from the graphics card.
The case does not have a speaker, so I cannot listen for beeps.

All fans (VGA, case and CPU cooler) are spinning.

I have updated to the latest BIOS via USB flash.

I have removed the RAM and placed one stick into different slots.

I have removed the CPU - none of the motherboard pins appear bent.

Does anyone have any ideas please on what I can do next? Will I need to replace some components, and if so, how will I know which is faulty?

Thanks!

obsolete99

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2010
Have you checked all your connections inside? Someone a few months back had the same problem with the same motherboard. Turns out, they forgot to plug in the 8-pin 12v connector into the mobo.

sadatquoraishi

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2012
Yes, the 8-pin 12v is plugged in as are all the connections I can think of. I checked the 8-pin connection by removing it and trying to turn on the computer - same problem, but this time the Q-LED did not even turn on. So the 8-pin connector is doing something at least!

obsolete99

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2010