Chow_Mein

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2011
Alright guys. I'm a bit of a beginner at this, so sorry if I've made any big mistakes.
Could you guys take a look at my prospective build and tell me if anything is incompatible; point out any rubbish products I've chosen or any bad design choices I've taken.

I'm looking for a decent gaming PC really. Something that'll play new games on higher settings for a year or two at least.

Anyway, the build:

Processor: i5 2500k (I'll probably want to overclock it in the future when I upgrade again and I've heard this is a good processor to do this with)

GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1024MB (Here's a link just in case I haven't put the full name in)

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3 (Rev3) (I'm not sure about this one to be honest, its just the cheapest Z68 I can find and I'm a filthy student so I'm a bit stingy, also link)

Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu (2x2GB) 1600MHz (Link)

Hard Drive: 1TB Samsung Sata II (Link)

Power Supply: Once again I'm uncertain about this one I've read that 500W should be enough, and I reckon I'll just buy a new one later on when I want to upgrade by SLI'ing the GPU, but for now do you reckon this will do? Going to get corsair. I've heard bad things about non-standard brands.

Case: I have an old PC that I'll salvage the case from, it only fits ATX though. If things don't fit I have no qualms about getting a new one as I wont have spent any money on it.

DVD Drive: LiteOn IHAS124-19 24x DVD+/-RW SATA (Link)

Thanks in advance, I know you must get loads of people like me joining and getting you to critique their build.

Solution