Totally Lost

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaSeeker

Distinguished
May 24, 2011
Sorry if I'm interrupting a thread but I'm new to this and totally lost.Can anyone direct me to help for on board audio problems?

Solution
G

Your GX620 indeed has digital audio capabilities. You may have installed the wrong driver. Are you running Windows XP on this GX620? If you are, try this one directly from Dell...

PaSeeker

Distinguished
May 24, 2011
Thanks for your help.I found the forum for sound cards but I don't know how to jump in with my question.I don't see anything related to questions about on board audio,just add on cards.

PaSeeker

Distinguished
May 24, 2011
O.K. This is my last message here.I don't want to bother you and the rest of the good people on this thread.As I said before,I only see comments for "add on cards".If a moderator can move my question to the proper forum,that would be great.My question is this:
I just got a Dell GX 620.I downloaded the audio driver(SoundMax) from the Dell website and installed it.I hooked up my digital speakers that work on my older GX 240 and I get no sound.Is the on board sound card capable of playing digital?
Thanks for your time and patience!

G

Your GX620 indeed has digital audio capabilities. You may have installed the wrong driver. Are you running Windows XP on this GX620? If you are, try this one directly from Dell. http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/download.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen&releaseid=R97809&SystemID=PLX_GX620&servicetag=&os=WW1&osl=en&deviceid=2430&devlib=0&typecnt=0&vercnt=1&catid=-1&impid=-1&formatcnt=1&libid=3&fileid=126932

If you are running Windows Vista or 7, you may be out of luck as support for your GX620 ended and no driver updates are available from Dell beyond Windows XP but there should be drivers available through Windows Update. http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-hardware/dell-optiplex-gx620-sound-drivers-for-windows-7/80d82d66-d497-4961-93df-6d16bbff9bbe