Awful PSU battlefield 3

Fairos

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2011
Hey,

I have had a really awful PSU for a while now from when i first built my PC about 5 months ago. I think it causes a few BSOD's sometimes. But the question i've got is.

I started playing battlefield 3 on all high settings with a HD5850 which my PSU can't really run. After a while of playing the game i can hear a fan really loud and can smell like burning of something. What could this be? and would a new PSU sort this problem? I can't think what else it could be.

Thanks for any help i will really appreciate it.

Regards

Fairos

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2011
This may help.. my spec :

ATI HD 5850 Extreme 1024mb GDDR5
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 3.20 ghz
Samsung Spinpoint 1TB Sata-II
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR2 1600mhz DUal Channel
24x DVD RW SATA

All put into this..
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/show [...] =FS-268-OK

It is actually the fan on my processor that is going mega fast.. opened it up after playing bf3 and it was hot and making a right noise !!!

Surelly it must be my power supply i cant think of anything else it could be.

The CPU fan spins at maximum speed because your CPU is getting very hot; the PSU has nothing to do with that. Install a better HSF on your CPU and it won't be as loud and it will run much cooler.

Your link is incomplete.

billj214

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2009
You may want to google "BF3 BSOD" I was having the same issues, there are forums suggesting to disable any Realtek Devices and try alternative NIC cards or sound cards. Also if your graphics driver is not the most current then try that as well.

What is your PSU and motherboard model? Some suggestions are to disable any overclock utility even if its not used, especially for Gigabyte boards.

Good Luck.

Fairos

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2011