Slow download speed

tneddr

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2011
Hello. I'm a newbie and am not sure I'm in the correct category, so please bear with me. My problem: I have a 64 bit HP TouchSmart with Win 7 Pro SP1, Intel Core i7 CPU Q840 at 1.87 GHz, 2 TB HD, 8 GB RAM. My downloads consistently run about 25-50 KB/sec, sometimes down to 5/sec. I have an older HP computer with the same software that downloads the same file, using the same home wireless network, at 2 MB/sec. Antivirus and malware scans on Norton Security Suite are negative. Any ideas where the bottleneck might be? Thanks so much for any help you might offer.

tneddr

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2011

Power saver is turned off.

Here are the model numbers:
TouchSmart—600-1365qd
HP Pavilion—m9400f

Comcast says download speeds can be “up to 15 Mbps.”

I used speedtest.net and bandwidthplace.com to obtain broadband stats on both computers with the following results

2011-11-01,

Time 09:45

HP Pavilion m9400f
Speedtest.net:
Download = 20.86 Mbps
Upload = 4.26 Mbps

Bandwidthplace.com
Download = 10.31 Mbps
Upload = 4.09 Mbps

Time 10:00

TouchSmart
Speedtest.net
Download = 0.042 MB/s
Upload = 0.532 MB/s

Bandwidthplace.com
Download = 418 Kbps
Upload = 4.02 Mbps

By specs do you mean the kind of details I listed on the TouchSmart, i.e. OS, CPU, memory, HD, etc.? If so, here are the details on my HP Pavilion
HP Pavilion Elite m9400f PC
Windows 7 Ultimate, SP1
AMD Phenom 9750 Quad-Core Processor 2.40 GHz
RAM: 8 GB
64 bit OS

ulillillia

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2011
I've had something similar. I have 768 Kbps upload speed (96 KB/s) and was regularly hovering at a constant 176 Kbps. It turned out to be the jack that connects to my router, the phone jack (voice phone), interestingly enough. Replacing it returned my speed to normal.

tneddr

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2011

Thanks, ulillillia. Thanks to megadelayed, too.