Computer fails to turn on with graphics card plugged in

cordless

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2011
I've just built a new PC which ran wonderfully for about 10 hours until I fired up Battlefield Bad Company 2 with max settings to see what sort of framerates (etc) I could get. My system was performing great for about 3 minutes when it suddenly shut off as though someone had pulled the plug. Now, when I attempt to turn on my system, nothing happens. No LEDs, no fans, no error codes, no POST. Maybe an occasional fan twitch.

While I'm not an engineer, this is far from my first build either, so I did some troubleshooting on my own. First I connected my old 500W PSU since this seemed like a power issue. There was no change so I reconnected my OCZ 500W. Then I started to remove components starting with the GIGABYTE GTX 460. The first boot attempt after removing the GPU was successful. The system POSTs successfully and I get a short "happy beep", although I do get an error code (d6) which on my board means that it can't find a video card. Go figure. So I thought perhaps I had a lemon GTX 460. I connected my old EVGA GTX 260 and plugged it in to the PSU, and the system failed to power on. It should be noted that it'll power on with either card sitting in the PCI-e slot without PSU connections, but of course will not output video.

So what I have here is a mostly brand new PC that ran great up until trying to game and now seems to have exploded in some way. It should be noted, that I had 3 rather old SATA drives and a DVD-R drive all connected at the time of the crash.