HD 5970 crashes when raising dram voltage?

TKperson

Distinguished
May 27, 2011
Hello everyone, first post but long time reader.

I seem to have encountered an unusual problem while playing with the settings of my ram. I have been using the Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1600C8D set for about seven months and have had no problems with them. I do know that the recommended settings for the ram look like this: 8-8-8-24 with 1.65v at 1600. The thing is, I can set the ram frequency up to 1600, the timings to the suggested values, and the uncore to 3200 no problem. But when I adjust the ram voltage up to the 1.65v I start having a strange issue with my video card. The problem can happen seemingly whenever, it can be right after post or it can be when opening a 3d application.

To elaborate a little more on what actually happens the screen will go black as if nothing is plugged into the monitor and the speed of the 5970's fan will jump up to 100% from wherever it was. It does not recover from this like it would from the "driver has stopped responding" problem I have seen very rarely since vista/win7 with other cards either.

After 5 hours of Memtest86 I believe I am fairly certain that the ram is not damaged which only confuses me further. The GPU does not have any heating problems to speak of and the power running to it should be more than sufficient. Any help with this would be very appreciated.

System specs
PSU: Kingwin ABT-1000MA1S
Motherboard: Asus P6X58D-E
CPU: i7 980x @ stock specs
Video: Sapphire 2gb HD5970
RAM: 6GB of TR3X6G1600C8D in triple channel (currently at 1333 / 9-9-9-24 / 1.5v)
Storage: 3x 1TB drives (2 set to raid 1, 1 as backup)
Case: Thermaltake Xaser 3 + a lot of fans

wiinippongamer

Distinguished