Sign in with
Your question

I7 2600k odd temp spikes

Last response: in CPUs
October 31, 2011 3:06:33 AM

Hi all,

I am a noob and first time poster to Tom's but have lurked for awhile. I just completed my first ever build on my own and am experiencing some odd temperature spikes after the computer has run flawless for about a month. Today, I had Real Temp alarms go off showing a cpu core temp of 90+C. I immediately came over to the computer to see what was going on and realized the only real process running was a bitdefender virus scan. I went ahead and shut the computer down and restarted entering the bios where Asus AI suite showed approximately 60C. I went ahead and restarted the computer and ran another bitdefender scan while Real Temp was running and sure enough, my temps spiked immediately to 70-80C. Other than that everything else has been fine. One other thing to note however is about a week after the build I noticed the bios temps were 10-15 degrees off of Real Temp or Core Temp (tried both) readings. Not sure if this is a bad mobo or something else is going on? I did check the cpu fan to make sure its properly in place and it appears to be. Any one experienced this problem or have any idea why I would get these temp spikes running a virus scan?

System is as follows:
Intel i7 2600k (Not overclocked yet) - Stock CPU fan
Asus P8P67 EVO Rev 3
Cooler Master GX750 PSU
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) 1600mhz Memory
EVGA GT 430 Video Card

Thanks in advance for any help!

More about : 2600k odd temp spikes

a c 894 à CPUs
October 31, 2011 3:15:42 AM

You sure the fan is properly attached all the push pins in correctly?
m
l
October 31, 2011 9:30:45 PM

oops, I replied via iphone last night but it obviously didn't work. I checked the heat sink but short of pulling the mobo out to see if its on right all pins appear to be snug. If was a loose heat sink wouldn't the temp spike all the time, no matter what load the cpu is under?
m
l
Related resources
a c 894 à CPUs