I7 2600k odd temp spikes

Hi all,

I am a noob and first time poster to Tom's but have lurked for awhile. I just completed my first ever build on my own and am experiencing some odd temperature spikes after the computer has run flawless for about a month. Today, I had Real Temp alarms go off showing a cpu core temp of 90+C. I immediately came over to the computer to see what was going on and realized the only real process running was a bitdefender virus scan. I went ahead and shut the computer down and restarted entering the bios where Asus AI suite showed approximately 60C. I went ahead and restarted the computer and ran another bitdefender scan while Real Temp was running and sure enough, my temps spiked immediately to 70-80C. Other than that everything else has been fine. One other thing to note however is about a week after the build I noticed the bios temps were 10-15 degrees off of Real Temp or Core Temp (tried both) readings. Not sure if this is a bad mobo or something else is going on? I did check the cpu fan to make sure its properly in place and it appears to be. Any one experienced this problem or have any idea why I would get these temp spikes running a virus scan?

System is as follows:
Intel i7 2600k (Not overclocked yet) - Stock CPU fan
Asus P8P67 EVO Rev 3
Cooler Master GX750 PSU
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) 1600mhz Memory
EVGA GT 430 Video Card

Thanks in advance for any help!
10 answers Last reply
More about 2600k temp spikes
  1. You sure the fan is properly attached all the push pins in correctly?
  2. oops, I replied via iphone last night but it obviously didn't work. I checked the heat sink but short of pulling the mobo out to see if its on right all pins appear to be snug. If was a loose heat sink wouldn't the temp spike all the time, no matter what load the cpu is under?