BSOD When 2 Sticks of RAM installed

Status
Not open for further replies.

natea58201

Honorable
Jul 19, 2012
Hi guys, so I recently put together my first computer. Everything was running smoothly until I started playing a couple different games. After about a half hour of playing my system would crash and give me a Blue Screen, Stop code 050 (which after research appears to be RAM related?) So I pulled one of the sticks of ram and now it runs just fine. Any idea? I have included specs below.

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard

Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Video Card: Asus Radeon HD 7850 2GB Video Card

Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case

Power Supply: OCZ 600W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply

Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit)

Solution
It appears either you have a RAM issue (as in one of the two sticks of ram is bad), or a motherboard issue (as in one of the two channel slots is bad), or a incompatibility problem (likely BIOS settings related).

Try the other pair of memory slots on the computer, if that has the same problem, download UBCD (google it) and do a Memtest+ run and allow it to run for a few hours so you get about 5, 6 passes, and if you get an error before that time, there is something wrong with your RAM or board, which is not at all uncommon.

OH, and with your STABLE configuration, do a BIOS update to the latest BIOS first. Sometimes incompatibility issues are solved in newer BIOS releases.

Maxx_Power

Distinguished
It appears either you have a RAM issue (as in one of the two sticks of ram is bad), or a motherboard issue (as in one of the two channel slots is bad), or a incompatibility problem (likely BIOS settings related).