Sign in with
Your question

BSOD When 2 Sticks of RAM installed

Tags:
Last response: in Memory
July 29, 2012 6:10:28 PM

Hi guys, so I recently put together my first computer. Everything was running smoothly until I started playing a couple different games. After about a half hour of playing my system would crash and give me a Blue Screen, Stop code 050 (which after research appears to be RAM related?) So I pulled one of the sticks of ram and now it runs just fine. Any ideas? I have included specs below.

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard

Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Video Card: Asus Radeon HD 7850 2GB Video Card

Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case

Power Supply: OCZ 600W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply

Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit)
August 3, 2012 8:38:50 PM

I have a similar issue with a fairly similar (but cheaper ;-)) setup:

Motherboard: Asrock Z77 Pro3

Memory: Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9W (2 x 4GB kit)

Processor: i7-3770 3.40GHz

The strange thing is that either stick will run on its own in any slot, but both together give loads of errors in MemTest86+ even in single channel mode.

I've tried upping the voltages a bit, dropping the speed, increasing the timings; nothing makes any difference, they just won't run together.

Asrock claim the 4 x 4GB kit is compatible, but I've never heard of 4 being more stable than 2.
m
l
August 3, 2012 9:14:41 PM

i have the exact same RAM as you and experiencing somewhat similar issues... i can't get past post in the dual channel slots (2+4, although i contacted MSI about the problem and they say it may be a miss-print, it should be 1+3) so i have to run them in sockets 1+2 which is single channel. you should try this to get the full 8GB until you RMA.
m
l
Related resources
August 3, 2012 9:19:45 PM