Sign in with
Your question

Newbie Building I5 2500k Rig

Last response: in Systems
March 9, 2011 11:14:27 PM

Hey all,

I am currently looking to build a rig based on the I5 2500k sandy bridge processor. I have never built one before but it seems relatviely straight forward and used the usual video web hotspots.

I am looking to get these components and just wondering if there are any issues that anyone can see or anything that would need changing.

List of components

Intel I 25 2500k processor (retail use stock heat sink it comes with).

Asus P8P67 Rev3, Intel P67, S1155, PCI-E 2.0 x16, DDR3 2200(OC), SATA 6Gb/s, SATA RAID, ATX Motherboard

Corsair Vengence 8gb DDR3 PC3 (1600) Non ECC Unbuffered CAS 9-9-9- 24XMP RAM

2GB XFX HD 6950, PCI-E 2.1 (x16), 5000MHz GDDR5, GPU 800MHz, 1408Cores, DL DVI-I/ DVI/ HDMI/ 2x mDP Graphics/Video Card

500W Corsair CMPSU-500CXUK Builder Series, 80% Eff', 120mm Fan, Single Rail, ATX PSU

1TB Western Digital WD1003FBYX RE4 Enterprise, SATA 3Gb/s, 7200rpm, 64MB Cache, NCQ Hard Drive.

Coolermaster Storm Scout Mid Tower Black Case

Sony DRU-880S, Black, 24x DVD±R, 12x DVD±DL, DVD+RW x8/-RW x6, RAM x12, SATA,Retail Labelflash (just cheap one as wont be using for DVD watching etc).

I am aware of intel's issues with the motherboards (hence the rev 3 board) and hoping they have now sorted this with the revised chipset.

I will use this PC for warcraft and general FPS and also for my work that will be starting with a Computer Science degree so looking for something to last so I can do everything. Just wondering is this a good start or a bit overkill, also money is not really an issue here but if I can save a few quid all the better. All suggestions and advice welcome as more of a software buff than hardware guru.

Cheers

BigRikk :hello: 
March 10, 2011 1:09:04 AM

i5 2500K is all you'll ever need for at least the next 2 years (especially if you overclock it).