New build - seeking opinions

mr_zed

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2011
Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to the whole building a PC business, usually I just go about buying a pre-built one and be on my way. But I've decided to give it a try. I've done quite a bit of research and have tried to find hardware that will work nicely and suit my needs.

My intentions of the PC I wish to build is of course main stream gaming for the most part along with regular stuff such as downloading, browsing etc. The results from the PC I want are of course being able to play on a relatively high graphics setting with optimal FPS. The games I'm interested in playing aren't too demanding or so I've heard... World of Warcraft, Starcraft II, The Elder Scrolls to name a few. I also haven't yet decided on a monitor but I'll probably be looking at something like 1920x1080 at least.

The build I'm settling with is:

CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Motherboard: Asus P8P67-Pro
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 1GB
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) 1600mhz
HDD: Western digital caviar black 7200RPM 1TB
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster hyper 212 plus
PSU: Antec 750W Earthwatts 80+ certified
Case: Antec 900

The total comes to around $1500 AUD (with shipping costs) which is an okay price to me.

However I am looking for some second opinions for the build overall,

And (if any) recommendations on anything I could change or add to either:

1. Cheapen the price without sacrificing too much performance.
2. Increase performance without drastically increasing the price tag.

EDIT: Also, is it worth having the i7 2600k? Or would a i5 2500k suffice for what I'm looking for?

Thanks for your time.

attackllama

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2011
Great choice!! Building yourself is much more fun. A couple things you could change:

Change the 2600k to 2500k. Games do not use hyperthreading and you can save $100 for a negligible performance change. 2500k vs 2600k (http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/287?vs=288)