Future proofing my Comp

Status
Not open for further replies.

rivo101

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010
Hi there everybody,

Im hoping anyone out there could spare some time to help a fellow gamer out:)

I have a question about GPU configuration.
Which is better for gaming right now and in the future, Single or Dual GPU (crossfire)

I know a PIC E runs at 16x and if you want crossfire you need a motherboard that has 8x 8x. but if i had two of the same cards- say the ati 5850 the values dont double correct? so 5850 + 5850 dived by two because of the 8x factor? -sorry if this doesnt make any sense lol my apologies

Im not very experienced in this department.

I ask this question because my computer is starting to show its age right about now and i would love to have a beast of a computer to run future games like BF3 at Max 1900X1080

Also which cards are best right now and which dual card configurations are best too.

Price really isnt an issue right now cause i can gradually buy all the parts before Bf3 comes out. would also like motherboard recommendations also if thats not to much trouble.

Thanks in advance:)
Rob

My specs are:
i5 750 @ 3.4ghz
Ati Hd 5850 1gb
Windows 7 untimate
4 gb ram @1333

Solution
You are right in saying that Crossfire/SLI does not automatically double performance, there is some drop-off. This is not, however, because of the x8x8 connection. It is more to do with the software controlling the crossfire/SLI configuration. It's been shown there is only a 4% performance difference between x16x16 and x8x8 configurations, meaning that x8x8 still has the vast majority of bandwidth available that your GPU's need to use. So x8x8 dual GPU configurations are massively viable and actually recommended as buying a motherboard capable of x16x16 offers incredibly little over x8x8 but will have a huge price premium attached.

If you want to really improve your computer as it stands (and it's a nice one at that), then i advise...

Griffolion

Distinguished