Sign in with
Your question

Advice on a ~$1000 multitasking & graphics build

Last response: in Systems
August 5, 2011 2:26:27 PM

Hello,

I typically have three screens going: 1. Graphics program for drawing, 2. Database for managing stocks, 3. On-line web conference. I feel like a gaming setup would be good. Because of multitasking expect I-7 2600 best, and 16 GB ram. Don't know if need higher capacity graphics. Looked at Gateway FX and it is hard to beat price! Suggestions?
August 5, 2011 2:59:49 PM

Do you have a budget in mind?
m
l
August 5, 2011 3:19:30 PM

Engima said:
Do you have a budget in mind?

Yes, I am trying to keep it below $1,000. I am new at this, but read through the suggtested articles, and it looks like some of my thoughts may be overkill. The largest overkill may be my choice of CPU. I like what I have been reading about the I-7 2600, but don't know enought to figure what I loose with each step down.
m
l
Related resources
August 5, 2011 9:15:53 PM

There's usually a speed plateau in terms of processor speeds and right now it's around 3.3GHz. Right now it seems like the i5-2500 is the best bang for your buck (3.3GHz stock). A .5GHz downgrade (i5-2300) will only save you $30 but a .1GHz upgrade (i7-2600) will cost an extra $100. To me the 2600 (~$300) isn't worth it on a $1000 budget. However, the i7-2600 includes hyperthreading while the i5-2500 does not and hyperthreading does help with the multitasking that you're looking for. It's personal preference, but I built a pc recently based on the i5-2500K (the K just means it's unlocked easier to overclock) and I have no problems at all with multitasking - it runs like a charm. In a 3 monitor setup, you might want to go with the i5 and use the $100 savings on a better video card.

As a final thought, if your main concern is multitasking, 16GB of RAM is a good choice, but make sure that if you're using Windows you use a 64-bit OS because the 32-bit versions of Windows don't support over 4GB of RAM
m