zachattack50

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2011
Hello, I am planning on upgrading my CPU and GPU, and am worried about the compatibility of hardware. I am by no means a smart when it comes to these, so bare with me.

Current Rig:
CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 250
Mobo: ASUS M4A77TD (socket: amd3)
RAM: 2x 2G DDR3 SDRAM(4G)
PSU: 480 Watts(1 year old)

My planned upgrades
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965
GPU: Radeon HD 6870 1GB

My main worries are wattage of PSU, and CPU cache. I have no knowledge about CPU cache's but I was warned about the difference between my CPU, L2, and my prospective one, L3. Thank you for any feedback!

zachattack50

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2011
I bought my current computer pre-built and the PSU is pretty janky... There is very little info on the unit itself. There is only a few set of numbers on it. None clearly specify who built it or wattage. I only know the wattage because this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227241 is my computer and the PSU is designated as 480W.

This next statement is all under assumption:
However the only set of numbers that I would come up with anything on google is "PX-480RPF. I believe that the PX designates it as a Pixxo, and the 480 the wattage, but again that is just from comparing it to model numbers of the PSUs they sell at their site here : http://mypixxo.com/product/power_supply.html

zachattack50

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2011
My apologizes, I forgot to mention I am already over my small budget for the upgrade, and I'm extremely intent on the CPU and GPU I'v selected. If the the PSU is the only thing in question I was going to run my computer with the new components, and if I saw any random freezes & reboots occur... start search for a new PSU.

That is one way of doing it! Beware though that it might slowly start killing of components (or suddenly with a bang) and you should plan the PSU upgrade sooner than later!