Building a PC in a couple of months time.

LozBlake15

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2011
Good Morning,

I know you must get 500 of these threads a day, but I'd really appreciate if you could take the time to quickly read through this assembly and give me some advice.

I've built PC's before, but not for about ~4 years so I'm a bit out of the loop in terms of current technology and there strengths. Reading about though this is what I've come up with. My budget is £800-£850, I'll be using my machine two fold. I'm a programmer by trade and will be doing some home stuff outside of work, I'm into web and app development so think lots of visual studio and IIS, quite resource intensive. Also of course, I'll be doing some gaming. I'm more into Civilization, Total War games than Crysis etc. On a side note, I'm trying to make this machine as quiet as possible. It doesn't have to be completely silent, but the quieter the better.

Case : Antec Sonata Elite Black Mid Tower Silent Case - No PSU
Mobo : Asus P8P67 EVO R3 P67 Socket 1155 8 Channel HD Audio ATX Motherboard
CPU : Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor
Memory : Corsair Vengeance 12GB (3x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Memory Kit CL9 1.5V Non-ECC Unbuffered
HDD for OS : OCZ 60GB Agility 3 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 525MB/s Write 475MB/s 50,000 IOPS
HDD for Storage : Seagate 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 32MB Cache - Retail Box Including Cables & Screws
PSU : Antec TruePower New 650W Modular PSU
CPU Fan : Zalman CNPS7500-CU LED Socket LGA1156, LGA1155, LGA775, AM3, AM2+, AM2, 754, 939 and 940 CPU Cooler

The obvious exclusion here is a graphics card. I'm going to take the 4850 out of my current rid and use that for the time being, I'll be buying a new graphics card a month or two later. Recommendations for the graphics card are very welcome!

The main parts I'm not too sure of at the moment is the Motherboard, the PSU and the CPU fan.