Graphic card Upgrade Question?Please Help!?

kashan123999

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
Hello All,I am a Complete newbie here,I found this forum very responsive and Good (not like yahoo answers),Searched all the way but could not "PROPERLY" find the answer of my question...
I have a crappy Dell Optiplex GX280 Small Mini Tower CPU, I upgraded my psu to 450 watt....Please tell Me which Graphic card should I buy,Which will be the best bet,Price Medium ranged,And MOST IMPORTANTLY,Will Fit in My Small Mini Tower Casing???...I am considering NVIDIA 9600gt,9500gt,GT240 or in case of ATI, 4670,5670,4870 (Difficult)...I know It is Very terrible,bottlenecked system but please tell me...My friend has the similar system with 9600gt and he is running COD4,MW2 smoothly though on medium settings...So I also want to run it and also want to play some RTS, and more FPS games....

shin0bi272

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
well you'll probably need a single slot card either way you go so that's another limiting factor... also whats the amperage on the 12v rail(s) on your psu? The real limiting factor here though is your cpu. its a single core 2.8-3.4ghz p4 prescott so there isnt a great solution short of a complete system overhaul (and a MUCH larger case) that will really solve all your problems. [edit to delete previous info]

[edit to insert new info]