Would this be a good college computer?

ZaIINN

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2011
Hello there! I was curious to whether or not this would be a good college computer yet also be able to play games fairly well. I'm also not sure how much of a premium i'm paying for the parts, but it looks to be well rounded from my P.O.V. I also plan on replacing one of the HDDs with an SSD (if you can recommend one 128gb~ish). Thank you very much to whoever allocates input to this dilemma! =)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834152266

Any feedback whatsoever is greatly appreciated in making this purchase. Need to decide within a week or so.

~ Zane

EDIT: My major is going to be "Computer Engineering" or at least that is the plan at the moment.

Solution
That configuration should serve you well for Computer Engineering/Computer Science/anything.

While not having any direct experience with that MSI model, I own the ASUS N53sv-XV1, which is the same configuration, but with a weaker GPU (the GT540M w/Optimus) and use it as my development workstation (I'm a software development consultant).

The couple things you might be hampered by, depending on how much you plan to haul this thing around, are the weak battery life and weight. I only get between 3 and 4 hours, depending what I'm doing, with an almost identical configuration. 3-4 hours isn't bad, for a machine with this kind of power. Really, it's not so much a "desktop replacement" as it is a "Lab Replacement" ;-)

As you note, to...

AbdullahG

Distinguished
That;s a nice laptop! The 560M is one of the best laptop video cards on the market. The i7 has a lot of power, not to mention would be great for the major you plan on taking (if you will be using rendering and editing). Overall, it is a nice mobile gaming machine as well as for college.

shadamus

Distinguished
Sep 16, 2010
That configuration should serve you well for Computer Engineering/Computer Science/anything.