*First Build ~1500 Gaming

bhf5006

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2009
I am building my first gaming rig. I have no prior experience with computers, but after a little research this is what I have come up with Money really isn't an issue if the incremental gains are worth the cash but I can not justify spending more than 1500+ on a gaming rig before buying duel monitors etc... I will be playing D3, SC2 and heavy modeling in excel. I have no idea how to build my own rig nor do I have the time to follow all the tutorials. I'll will spend the extra money having a site assemble it. Unless anyone else has any other ideas.

CASE: Coolmaster Storm Sniper Mid Tower (Looks cool + liquid cooling option for sound reduction)
CPU: I5/2500k 3.30 GHz OC
COOLING: Astek 510LLC Liquid Cooling
Mobo: Asus p8z68-V Pro
Memory: 8gb (4gb x 2) Corsair Vengence
Video Card: Either GTX 560 Ti EGVA super clocked/ SLI or single
SSD: 30gb boot or OCZ 120gb vertex. Is 30gb even large enough for windows / 2+ games? It would get too expensive to have a 120gb
Data: duel 1TB 7200 16mb catch raid 0
Power: 850 Watt Cosair Gold Power series

Let me know what you guys think or point me in the right direction. Much appreciated.

Illumina

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2010
Typically when you have a boutique build it for you (which can be a good option), you customize the build based on a list of components they give you on their site.

I recommend taking a look at Maingear and Puget Systems and customizing a build based on their offerings.

Good luck :)

bhf5006

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2009
Thanks, but those sites seem a little pricey compared to cyber power or i buy ... If i can be convinced to build my own system and the money I will save and the performance I will gain is substantially worth it, I am totally up for it.

I'm really just deciding between 1 gtx 560 ti with a 128 gb ocz vertex or 2x gtx 560 ti with a 30gb boot

Illumina

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2010