Sign in with
Your question
Closed

FTP server

Last response: in Components
November 8, 2011 2:45:57 PM

Hi. i have a sandy bridge build (i3 2100) 4gb ram and 500gb HDD.

i want to know if its fine to run a ftp server- running about 40 users?

but my main thread is, what software should i use? i know linux ClearOS and Turnkey. but are there any 3rd party programs for Windows. what is the best free option for me (linux or windows)?

thank you very much

More about : ftp server

Related resources
November 8, 2011 3:25:39 PM

yes i do have. but im still a rookie. i can learn quick if i spend time with it. then it should be no prob. what suggestions do you have>?
Score
November 8, 2011 3:34:06 PM

Im looking for sumthing like ClearOS. or Turnkey.
Score
November 8, 2011 3:39:48 PM

I always used Filezilla server on my windows PC. Worked well enough for my use.
Score
November 8, 2011 5:18:11 PM

Jurgens said:
Im looking for sumthing like ClearOS.

The Home and Enterprise versions are free so if you want ClearOS go get it. Is this just a simple storage/file push server? Im with nordlead...I use Filezilla server/client. Easy user/pw set up and highly expandable.

This guide is what I used to install my Linux server at home a few years ago, not sure if its still good but try it.

http://www.howtoforge.com/ubuntu-home-fileserver
Score
November 9, 2011 2:25:00 AM

No, i want a public FTP server.
Score

Best solution

November 9, 2011 11:57:28 AM

you can setup filezilla to be public with anonymous login. You can setup a home server to be public. I'm not sure what you are saying no to.
November 9, 2011 12:44:25 PM

okay. i need a public FTP with users to log in and upload/download their files...
Score
November 9, 2011 1:18:38 PM

Do you have a static IP address from your ISP?
If you don't or you don't know I would recommend you stop right there.