Status
Not open for further replies.

gamballerz

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
Hello,
I am a professional poker player from Seattle, WA and pokerstars.com just recently banned all players from real money who are from the state or WA. I am trying to find a VPN that will allow me to play poker at pokerstars.com. I have used StrongVPN but that product does not work for pokerstars. It just keeps trying to connect. Please help. Thank you

gamballerz

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
I did connect outside of WA via StrongVPN.com. I was connected to San Fran. CA. But this VPN does not work for some reason. pokerstars.com just gets stuck on the connecting to network status. I am willing to transfer fund or pay for a working solution. Thanks for any input.

It's always possible that PokerStar.com is aware of specific VPN servers and is blocking their respective IPs as well.

What I suggest is finding a friend outside WA who will let you use their VPN server. Obviously PokerStar.com can't detect individual VPN servers.

Or perhaps try the TOR network. TOR is an onion router. It’s similar to a VPN, but in this case, your traffic is sent through numerous servers before reaching the destination IP. Its purpose is anonymity. It’s much more difficult to determine the original source IP when the access path is so deep. It’s also FREE. But it comes at a price; performance. Obviously the more machines, the longer it will take. And since you’re leveraging peers (i.e., other TOR users), there’s no telling the performance and capacity of individual machines. Also, you can’t control the IP address of the last machine, it’s a bit of luck. But I would think/hope on average you would get an IP address that was highly unlikely to be on PokerStar.com’s blacklist.

The only thing you want to be careful with anytime you use a VPN server (even commercial services) or TOR is that you're using SSL, so at least you're assured your data stream cannot be eavesdropped by the endpoint.