AMD Athlon II dual core 215 and radeon 6870

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ironmongr

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2011
Hello, I've recently built my first PC it's ok i guess for what i spent on it. My specs are an AMD Athlon II dual core 215 processor, an AMD radeon 6870 graphics card and 3 gigs of DDR3 ram. im kinda new to the PC community and was wondering if the CPU i currently have is what you say "bottlenecking" my graphics card since i've noticed while running Dirt 3 i only get 30-40 FPS while racing and 60fps at home screen while on youtube i see similar specs running at 60FPS easy with the same card. my resolution is run really low 1024 X 768 so I know it should be running even better than on youtube. any suggestions?

Solution
Your processor is a horrible bottleneck, especially at those low resolutions. You've got a processor that barely meets minimum requirements on a number of new games while being below the recommended, and a video card that will handle most games high settings 1920x1080 resolution. If budget is the reason you got that processor, you would of been better off spending more to get an Athlon/Phenom X4 and 6770 or 6850 instead.

loneninja

Distinguished
Your processor is a horrible bottleneck, especially at those low resolutions. You've got a processor that barely meets minimum requirements on a number of new games while being below the recommended, and a video card that will handle most games high settings 1920x1080 resolution. If budget is the reason you got that processor, you would of been better off spending more to get an Athlon/Phenom X4 and 6770 or 6850 instead.

Solution

Ironmongr

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2011