Finished putting together the parts, what now?

skitsofrenic

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2010
Hello everyone.

I just got done putting together my computer and I've installed the Windows 7 on it.

The question is.. what do I do now?

Please help me, this is my first time ever building a computer from scratch. I would like step by step instructions if you don't mind. Thank you!!

Download & install updated drivers for your hardware. get them from the manufacturers website. you need the drivers for the motherboard, Graphics & maybe even your network interface card. You may have to use the install CD that came with your motherboard to get the network driver in order to connect to the internet. Without a list of what you have hardware wise, it's tough to be any more specific.

skitsofrenic

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2010

Hahaha thank you for your reply. Believe it or not, I spent roughly about 30 mins trying to connect my computer to the internet. It didn't work of course. Searched all over the internet to find a solution for this and started to think if I had done something wrong.

Then I got a flash of memory of Linus doing motherboard reviews. How he always said throw away the drivers disc and install from the website. Well well well... I had forgotten all about that cd, which was sitting inside the motherboard box. Now I installed the drives and internet works ^^

What should I do now? Am I good to go? Do I need to mess with the BIOS at all? Sorry for newbie questions!!

take the disc that came with your motherboard and install drivers to your machine.......... ethernet ( so you can connect to the internet )...... motherboard drivers, etc. DO NOT go nuts and install the bloatware if you can help it............ after you get connected to the net you can go to Windows Update and install what is needed..... critical/software/hardware drivers, etc. Then you can go to manufacturers sites for drivers/firmware if need be.

don't forget to install the sound drivers too