Sign in with
Your question

Pin Compatibility

Last response: in Motherboards
August 14, 2012 12:08:36 AM

Ok, I am planning to get a Geforce GTX 670 which has two 6 pin connectors, along with Intels DZ77RE-75K Extreme Series motherboard which has "Two PCI Express* 3.0 x16 connectors (one x8 electrical)". So if I understood that statement I took from Intels site correctly, it has 2 PCI Express 3.0 with 16 pin connectors and one of them has 8 connectors that are "electrical" (I am not very good with connectors which is why I am asking you guys). So,,, if I understood all of this correctly, please tell me if the GTX 670 will be compatible with Intels DZ77RE-75K Extreme Series motherboard.

More about : pin compatibility

a b V Motherboard
August 14, 2012 12:58:44 AM

WOW That's some interpretation!

What it means is that the motherboard has pci-e X16 3.0 lanes. X16 being bandwidth and the 3.0 being revision. One video card connects into 1 pci-e X 16 slot and it has 2 of these pci-e slots. The X8 part means that if you use both pcie slots that it will only run at the X8 bandwidth or speed. The video card has 2 six pin power connectors that need to be plugged into from the power supply. The motherboard needs one 20+4 or 24 pin power connector and one 4+4 or one 8 pin power connector plugged into it from the power supply. Does that help clarify the connectors for you?

Oh, and yes, it is compatible
m
l
August 14, 2012 12:59:37 AM

The two six pin connectors come from the power supply. The PCI Express are for data. They carry some power but not enough for a GTX 670 so it gets more straight for the power supply.

The more important thing would be to check if the power supply has 30A on the 12v rails that feed the card.
m
l
Related resources
a c 431 V Motherboard
August 14, 2012 4:17:59 AM

I think you are getting your power cable (pins) discription mixed up with your slot (contacts) discription.
m
l
August 14, 2012 3:32:33 PM

suteck said:
WOW That's some interpretation!