[Solved] Desktop wont boot fully.

ebrell

Honorable
Aug 13, 2012
Hello, this is my first time posting on these boards but from what I've seen there are a lot of very experienced people here so I'm posting a problem I am having while trying to fix a family members computer. It seems he bought a lot of parts to build his first computer, they arrived in the mail a few days ago and he put it all together but it seems that he mistakenly plugged the PCI-E 6 pin connector into the 8 pin 12v ATX MoBo connector. I have a little more experience than he does so he brought it to me and I have been troubleshooting it all day but still cant get it to boot. One of the cables on the PCI-E cable was fried literally burnt up so I had to use another to plug in the GPU but other than that I don't see any physical damage to the machine.

So basically my question is can anyone tell me exactly what he destroyed by plugging in 6 pin connector in the 12 ATX port?

Any help would be seriously appreciated and if at all possible it would be nice to salvage the MoBo but if not that's fine too.

Solution
Does it seem to boot but no video? Does it not power on at all? Little more detail about what it actually does and what equipment we're talking about. Does it show that the board is actually getting any power. Have you tried the simple psu test by jumping the green and a black connector to see if the power supply runs for any length of time. Don't forget to connect at least a fan to it to draw some power from it. Do you have a different power supply to try in case it burnt a psu rail or two? First thing I would try is changing the psu. But is it's a single rail with 25 or 30 amps on it or multiple rails? There's a good chance he burnt more than the psu. But still, it's usually cheaper to replace the psu for trial than...

suteck

Distinguished