Home Built PC Doing Nothing!

josh_19

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2011
Hi All,

I've just put myself together a new PC pushed the power button and nothing works, no lights, no beeps,no fans running. I've ensured the 24pin cable is connected from my PSU to mobo and the 8pin cable from my PSU to mobo. Also checked the pin headers for my power button, reset and led's are connected correclty (noting polarity) according to the manufacturers guide. It might be worth noting i e-mailed a custom build company my parts list and they said the components would be compatable with each other, but here's my system anyway:

Antec 300 Three Hundred Case
Antec 620W High Current Gamer
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATA
MSI GeForce GTX 560Ti (GX-130-MS)
Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 8GB
Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz
Samsung SH-S222AB/BEBE 22x DVD±RW
Asrock Z68 PRO3 Intel Z68
Windows 7 Home-64Bit

This is my first build, so i won't be offended if you talk basics ;). I'm thinking i may have a faulty PSU, but welcome all comments & suggestions. All components are new.

Kind Regards

Josh

josh_19

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2011
Hi,

Thanks for the prompt reply! Just to clarify this power button 'on' switch, my motherboard user guide can be found here:

http://download.asrock.com/manual/Z68%20Pro3.pdf

Page 28.

If we number the top pins as 1-5 (left to right) and the bottom pins 6-10 (l-r), could you confirm the settings:

Pin1: PLED+
Pin2: PLED-
Pin3: PWRBTN+
Pin4: RESET-
Pin5: No Pin
Pin6: HDLED+
Pin7: HDLED-
Pin8: PWRBTN-
Pin9: RESET+
Pin10: Dummy

(Where - is used for GND)

josh_19

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2011
Hi All,