Your question

Best motherboard for wouldbe enthusiast

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • Build
  • Product
Last response: in Motherboards
August 14, 2012 4:24:02 PM

Hello, I am new to this sort of thing, but am looking to build and continue to build upon a gaming pc for all platforms of pc gaming. I want to go very big with my computer... in the future. At the moment my budget is about 1100, I am having trouble with motherboards ( mostly because I am new to this and not sure what to do as far as quality for expansion later). I know enough to know that I will be needing a z77 chipset model for my ivy bridge processor and pcie 3.0 for my gtx 670 video card. Mostly I want to spend as little as possible which means that when I go to upgrade my system later I do not want to have to get a new motherboard; also this means I want to go as cheap as possible now while maintaining what I just said. I am not super familiar with a lot of the more special features on most boards so any insight on that would be appreciated as well.

My build

CPU: i5 3570k
GPU: GIGABYTE GV-N670OC-2GD GeForce GTX 670 2GB 256-bit GDDR5
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
PSU: Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W Continuous @40°C,80 PLUS Certified, Single 12V Rail, Active PFC "Compatible with Core i7,i5" Power Supply
Case: Rosewill R5 Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Case
(potential) Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H LGA 1155 Intel Z77 189.99 I would love to go cheaper than this if I can without compromising quality/expandability.

Thank you for any and all input details into why you made your choice would be awesome.

More about : motherboard wouldbe enthusiast

August 14, 2012 4:29:56 PM