Does my CPU bottleneck my GPU

Samppaa

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011
Ok so I am not very good with these things, but I got a pretty old processor and fairly new GPU. I tried skyrim today and it lagged pretty bad. My processor is intel core 2 duo 3,1GHz and GPU is nvidia geforce GTX 460 with core clock speed of 405MHz. shaders 810MHz, Memory 1800MHz.

So is my CPU limiting me?

ch3rok33jo3

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011
Certainly. Here are my two systems, you can see the difference in configuration:

(old system, now secondary for friends to LAN on)
Intel Core 2 Duo@3.4GHz; 3GB DDR2 memory; 512MB 9800GT video card

(new(er) system, can run Skyrim at maximum settings without lag)
AMD Phenom II 945@3.4GHz; 4GB DDR2 memory; 1GB GTX 460 video card

As you can see, my GTX 460 is paired up with an overcloced AMD quad core. My CPU is *still* the bottleneck, as a newer turbo quad or i5/i7/FX would do wonders for my overall performance.

How much memory do you have? If it's less than 3GB, that's your bottleneck. My Core 2 Duo can run Skyrim just fine, albeit not at *maxium* settings but most are at medium and a few are set to high. Though, my CPU is also 300MHz faster than yours, I doubt it is the reason you are unable to run Skyrim.

Turn your draw distances down and turn physics down, this will help with CPU. If you have 2GB of memory or less, that will be your bottleneck and you will need an upgrade ASAP

However CPU's are so incredibly cheap, you should be able to get an old Core 2 Quad for next to nothing, and when overclocked it will perform well enough to run Skyrim at higher settings

The C2D at 3.1 and the GTX460 are a pretty good match, however, Skyrim wants a faster cpu, so in this case the cpu IS the bottleneck, but the cpu is NOT bottlenecking the gpu. It just happens to be a game that is cpu limited before it's gpu limited, as most MMO's are.