Is the mobo worth the money

Gerhard HT

Honorable
Aug 8, 2012
Hi guys..

I have quite a strict budget so im really struggling to get the right mobo.
My budget is about (275 US Dollar) (170 UK Pound) R2200 (im from South Africa) but if i can get a Z77 chipset for cheaper it would be great!
I've been looking at the MSI Z77A-GD65, i can get the board for around R1900 (240 US Dollar) (145 UK Pound)

Is this board worth the money?
If not, what would you recomend for that budget?

satyamdubey

Distinguished
hello :)
share a little more info like
1. purpose of the build (gaming, HTPC, video encoding etc)
2. plans for overclocking
3. plans for upgrade meaning in the future you may (upgrade processor, increase graphic power etc)

general info about the build (hardware you've finalized)

- Satyam

Gerhard HT

Honorable
Aug 8, 2012
1. Mostly gaming (not serious gaming), maybe running a few programs (not running a server or HTPC, just for home use)

2. I'm really new at this so I'm not going to overclock hectic (never done it myself). I'm getting a intel core i5, most of them can overclock quite nice (thats what I think anyway).

3. Further upgrade will probably be RAM; GPU (I'm not sure what im going to buy yet, maybe a AMD 1Gb DDR5 card of some kind) and CPU in the far future (2-3 years).

4. About the build... im really not sure what other hardware im going to buy, i'm still looking around, sorry about that.

Thanks for the help!

satyamdubey

Distinguished
well all i5's can overclock but only some are meant to :)...and those will be the "K" series ones. All others are great just the way they are... at stock :).

The seven series mobo's have support for 3rd gen i5 out of the box unlike the 6 series which need a BIOS flash update... please refer the link below and check with your local vendor for equivalent price listing

http://www.techradar.com/news/computing-components/motherboards/best-motherboard-14-reviewed-and-rated-904229