Your question

Looking for Assistance/Suggestions/Opinions on self built PC

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
August 17, 2011 6:59:05 AM

I've recently started piecing together what I want for my next computer, will be the first I've built myself and I have very little knowledge when it comes to the technical stuff. I've done a lot of researching and I've pretty much come up with what I want so I'm really just wondering if everything will work well together/fit, etc...or if there are other/better options anyone would suggest. My current plans are as follows:

Chassis - COOLER MASTER HAF X

PSU - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200

Motherboard - ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z LGA 1155 Intel Z68 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU - Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge

CPU Cooler - Prolimatech Megahalems

RAM - (Undecided)

SLI Video Cards - 2 x EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Cards

(went with 570s because I plan on adding a 3rd at a later time but 3 right off rip would drive the initial price up too high, already going to take a long time to save up for this...may even just start with 1 and add as I can til I get to 3, idk)

PhysX Dedicated VIdeo Card (preferred) - Galaxy GTX 460 razor SINGLE SLOT

PhysX dedicated video card (Minimum) - Geforce 9800 GT

SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 Series – MAX IOPS Edition VTX3MI-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive

HDD - HITACHI Ultrastar 7K3000 HUA723020ALA640 (0F12455) 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

(will add additional drives later)

Multi-Reader - Koutech IO-FPM530 Multi-in-1 USB 3.0 Multifunction SuperSpeed Front Panel Card Reader with eSATA / HD Audio Ports

BD-Drive - LITE-ON 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 8MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner with 3D Playback iHBS212-08 LightScribe Support