Multiple questions regarding my build!

G

Hello,

Well first of all, I must say this is my first time posting on Tom's Hardware. I have read many articles on these forums and find the community very helpful, so I thought I might ask my question directly here! I am not ready to spend a lot on this yet, because I want to squeeze every drops out of it before upgrading again. This is my gaming machine, and my aim is to play any games at ultra settings (maxed out). Most games before 2010 run fine at 30FPS+ but anything past that has some hiccups.

So first of all I have just upgraded my computer and here are the specs;

Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33 GHz (Stock speed)
Corsair A70 CPU cooler
ASUS P5Q SE PLUS Motherboard (P45)
2 x 2GB Kingston HyperX
ZOTAC GTX 480 (Stock Speed)
640 Gb Western Digital Caviar Blue (WD6400AAKS)
80 Gb Western Digital HDD
Corsair TX750 v2
Cooler Master HAF 912 case with 6 x 120mm fans.

Alright, so I have multiple questions about all of this hardware and my next upgrades. I will separate every questions into paragraphs to make it easier.

1. My first question is regarding my CPU. Admitedly I bought it because it was the cheapest quad-core I could get, but that was a year or two ago. Now I am wondering if my CPU is bottle-necking my newly acquired GPU, and if I should overclock or replacing it would be a better option. If you say overclocking please point me to some good articles because I have started looking for some, and it's impossible to understand, there are way too many technical terms to understand. If you say upgrade, please explain why and tell me what models would suit this build. If I upgrade CPU I must also upgrade Mobo and RAM, so I need info on these 2 as well!

2. Should I get more memory, or 4GB is plenty for every day gaming ?