Sign in with
Your question

Verizon dsl modem connected to Internet but unable to access...

Last response: in Networking
October 10, 2010 2:38:01 AM

I have been using verizon dsl for about two years now. Yesterday I woke up and was unable to access the Internet from my computer. I navigated to my modem/router's main page because once in a while I'll have to reboot it to get it to reconnect. Upon going there I was surprised to see that the modem was connected to the Internet just fine. After talking with verizon tech support last night for several hours they decided to send me a new replacement of my modem/router, the Westell 7500. I had two pc's and two xbox's connected to it and nothing could connect to the internet.

Instead of waiting and being a bit curious I pulled out my old modem, a westell 6100 and wired it straight to my windows seven pc. First off I made sure that I could connect to the modem and that it was connected to the Internet. It is bu I'm still unable to access any web pages. It tells me that PPP status is up.

In cmd I am able to ping yahoo.com and google.com successfully. Sometimes I get 50% packet loss but usually it is 25% or 0%.

Please, any help that you can offer is much appreciated. I don't think that the new modem will help if my spare isn't working. I'm using a windows 7 pc and google chrome right now. Thanks in advance for any help.
October 11, 2010 5:44:17 PM

That's a huge packet loss, you should be at 0.

You may have an issue with your phone lines. Phone companies do make changes in things, maybe move a line around or switch how the signal travels.

Do you get a DNS error when you try to go online? From the direct modem connection can you ping your Gateway and DNS servers with no loss?
m
l
October 12, 2010 3:08:36 PM

No Dns error pops up or anything.