Sign in with
Your question

Constant freezes

Last response: in Motherboards
August 23, 2012 1:37:13 AM

Hi!

I've been struggling with huge freezing issues the last year, being a student, i cant really afford a new pc, so i've endured.

Although I think I've tried pretty much any tip out here/there.

This is my rig: - Asus P6T Deluxe v2 Newest bios version (1202) - Core i7 920 - 4 x 3 kingston ram (also tried with corsair) - 750w corsair psu - gforce 580 gtx The issue is it freezes, alot, all the time.

Wether just the browser thats being used (tried them all) or gaming, it hangs up every 5-10 min and can be frozen for 10 sec to several minutes. The mouse pointer goes into "thinking mode" and the browser goes white until it returns. In-game, its more of the typical freeze, sound looping etc.

Now, games react differently as well. Diablo 3 will freeze completely and often. Skyrim doesnt freeze as much, and HoN (Heroes of Newerth) only freezes at the hero selection screen, but rarerly when im ingame.. Other weird thing is only 8 giga ram is detected, even in bios. (running 64 bit os btw).

Ive tested every ram by itself in a_1, and it works individually, even bought new one that didnt help. Ive tried setting the ram to 1333 mhz (from auto) with 2666 (whatever is supposed to be at least the double of the ram hz again) to no avail, while trying 1,45 - 1,65 v. Ive ran memtests, reinstalled formated, hdd tests etc without any issues as well.

Done anti-virus tests, even took the whole pc apart and put it back together to no avail. What im afraid of is that ive to buy a new motherboard, which i really cant afford atm.

Suggestions ? :( 

More about : constant freezes

a c 715 V Motherboard
August 23, 2012 2:13:54 AM

Welcome to Tom's Forum! :) 

Do or check the following: