CPU and other questions (new cs student)

Status
Not open for further replies.

pallius

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2011
Hello all. I am currently a CS student and finishing up my first hardware course. Although I am not the best student, I absolutely love the course. These forums look like an oustanding place to obtain knowledge. If I am posting this in the incorrect place, or im beaitng a dead horse (which I very well might be), I am sorry :??:

I have some general questions, and other questions on the CPU clock vs RAM internal clock. If anyone can tell me if my thoughts are incorrect and add any insight to my questions it would be much appreciated. ANY help on any of my questions or any discussion is highly appreciated. Thanks :)

NOTE: I would like to express my ideas using terminology I used in class.

CPU
From what I understand so far, the Hz label on the CPU is the time per clock pulse the cpu operates at. For example, a 3.0 GHz processor performs some operation every 1/(3 x 10^9) seconds or every .33 ns per clock pulse.

#1) If the oscillating crystal is on the motherboard, how does the crystal know at what clock frequency to pulse at? I would assume that a crystal pulsing faster then what a CPU is supposed to operate at will cause a BSOD OR... new control signals will be applied to the datapath before all operations are complete leading to missing bits, failure to load all bits to the IR, failure to apply the correct address to the MAR etc.

#2) By saying a CPU is 32 bit or 64 bit, that means the ALU/registers can perform operations on this many bits simultaneaously?

#3) Can the frequency of the crystal be manipulated by changing the voltage?

#4) When people overclock, what are they physically tampering with in the cpu? From my studies all I see is combinational/sequential circuitry. Certainly they arent changing the speed their latches and AND gates work, right? :pt1cable:

RAM