Sign in with
Your question
Solved

UATX compatibility question - first time build

Last response: in Systems
August 23, 2011 12:39:45 AM

I'm an experienced programmer but this is my first foray into building my own rig. I have a couple of quick questions about the following proposed build:

AMD A8-3850 Llano 2.9GHz Socket FM1 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU
ASRock A75M FM1 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D Green 380W Continuous power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Kingston 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory
APEX TX-381-C Black Steel Micro ATX Tower Computer Case
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

I'm not sure I have all this uATX stuff straight. I'm getting a uATX mobo and a uATX case (which is very large for being micro? 16x7.2x16). The comments about the case seem to indicate that it takes a regular ATX power supply. Are these items all properly compatible? I'm looking for a regular desktop type computer and I don't want to suddenly discover that I need uATX RAM or something else I've never heard of before.

Secondly, I'd like to skip the optical drive because I most likely will never use it. Does anyone care to rate my chances of successfully installing my (already purchased) windows 7 CD via USB key using this: Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool?

Thanks in advance -

Approximate Purchase Date: This week (Aug 22-26)

Budget Range: $400-$500 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: General programming (probably nothing bigger than the spring engine), moderate gaming (20-30 fps for TF2 is plenty), netflix-style streaming of movies/videos.

Parts Not Required: Mouse/Keyboard/Monitor/Speakers, Optical drive, Windoze

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg

Country of Origin: USA