jamezuva

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2011
Hi, I've never built a computer before (though I've installed a few components here and there e.g. video cards, disc drives) but need to get a new PC soon (for non-gaming reasons) and don't have the time to learn to build it this time around.

I've searched around a bit and seems like the best website to order from looking at price and reseller ratings seems to be computerlx.com especially since I won't get charged tax (Live in California). They don't quite have all the specifics I'd like on each component on their site but I don't see a good alternative without having to pay tax (approaching 10% here).

I'm looking for a $2000 +/- ~$200 range gaming PC that will last me for approx 4-5 years without any need for major upgrades. Mainly looking to play FPS and games like Starcraft II/Civ 5 but I play games from pretty much every genre (Witcher 2, etc). Not sure what my bottleneck will be on the system I propose below. Also not sure if I'll really get much benefit from doing 2 great vid cards in SLI vs. 1 top of the line card given my situation and accordingly how strong of a power supply I'll need. I think I would want PhysX/Cuda for games so my understanding is ATI is out.

Mainly looking to install the OS (win 7 64-bit) to a SSD and maybe 1-2 games to it and having a 1.5-2 TB conventional HD.

Approximate Purchase Date: this week

Budget Range: $2300 before rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming >>> Surfing > Watching Movies (don't do photoshop, Auto-CAD, etc)

Parts Not Required: Have a Acer H233H monitor (up to 1920 x 1080p), speakers, good mouse and keyboard, headset, router, cable modem, 2 external 1 TB HDs

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Again, plan to purchase from a website (probably computerlx.com or may possibly have local place construct it for me due to time constraints on my part). Notably, Newegg charges tax for me.

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences:

# Processor - Intel Core i5 2500K