AcidZealot

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2011
Hi all,

I am interested in making an upgrade of the GPU. Since I am a bit of a noob in regards to hardware I’ve a few queries around how it will all work. :p

What I use the PC for: gaming, internet, programming/office applications

Current set up:

Intel Core i7 2.8GHz Socket 1366 8MB L3 Cache
ASUS P6T SE Intel X58 / ICH10R Socket 1366 Motherboard
Corsair 6GB (3x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 1600MHz
XFX GX-285N-ZDFF Geforce GTX 285 1GB GDDR3
Liteon 24X Dual DVD RW
LB CH10 Blu-Ray Drive
SAMSUNG 1TB 7200RPM 32MB SATA II HDD
Antec EarthWatts650W ARX 80PLUS 8cm
Antec TWELVE HUNDRED Full Tower Gaming Case Advanced Cooling
Windows 7 prem 64-bit

Main reason for upgrading: To handle upcoming PC game titles with smooth frame rate on high settings (e.g. for Skyrim :))

I was naturally looking at the Geforce 500 series, but my questions are:

1) Installation and space – The concern was around the ease of replacing my current GPU with the newer GPU. Will a card from the 500 series fit in the space as the replacement inside the case? How much bigger would it be?

2) PSU – will my current PSU be adequate to handle a higher series card without issues? (Bearing in mind the other devices)

3) Heat/noise – would heat be an issue if the card was put under pressure for long periods of time? What would the noise levels be like? (a minor concern, I have a set of headphones if necessary)

4) SSD – Is installing one worth the trouble (reinstall windows, all apps?) for what I am intending to do?

5) Lastly, if it is really worth just ordering a new set up entirely for long term use?

Any assistance and/or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Solution
You don't mention which i7 cpu you have, but I don't think that will turn out to be a major factor. I would, however, like to know what screen resolution you game at.

1) a GTX 580 is 10.5" long, and will project slightly less than an inch off the end of a standard 9.6" ATX motherboard.