ASUS Xonar DS Volume quiet

Last response: in Components
November 23, 2011 11:44:54 AM

PC Specs:
Mobo: Asus P5Q deluxe
CPU: Q9550 @ 3.4Ghz
RAM: 4GB DDR2
GPU: HIS 6950
I have disabled the on-board sound in the BIOS.

Hey guys.

I just purchased a Xonar DS and installed it today with the latest drivers available on the ASUS website however I am having problems configuring the card properly.

It appears no matter how I configure the card (turning volume to 100% on all programs, changing speaker set up etc) I cant seem to get the volume up to a high level.

One thing I noticed while testing a few songs was that 30% volume on windows media player was exactly the same as 100% volume and there was no change at all after turning the volume control past 30%.

It is worth mentioning that my on-board sound was capable of reaching double if not more volume than the sound card is producing .

Is there something wrong with the card? or am I being a complete novice and forgetting to do something?.

Many thanks in advance
November 23, 2011 12:58:03 PM

Just plugged my 5.1 speaker system into the card and it appears to be performing much better than my headset however i switched back to onboard sound and my headset was performing at 100% again.

Is this sound card built for speakers only or is it something else?
November 23, 2011 1:04:43 PM

I have a Siberia Neckband at the moment and im a little worried because I purchased this sound card to get the most out of a Roccat Kave headset which I will be buying shortly. The kave is supposed to have solid 5.1 but will the problems still be the same on that headset?.
Related resources
a b Ĉ ASUS
November 23, 2011 2:04:59 PM

Whats the headset? Depending on its impeadance, it simply might not be getting enough juice...[I find that unlikely, but its possible...]
November 23, 2011 4:44:50 PM

Steelseries Siberia Neckband buddy
a b Ĉ ASUS
November 23, 2011 5:36:39 PM

Time for a physics lesson!