Sign in with
Your question

Looking at an upgrade and not sure where to start...

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
November 23, 2011 7:49:15 PM

Howdy all, I currently have an OK computer that I use for home and office. I'm looking to upgrade as it tends to run a little slow for my work stuff (graphics designer w/ large image files using Corel) as well as some gaming like COD4.

I'd like to look at upgrading but not sure where to start. I've checked the Gigabyte website to see what's compatible with my motherboard and it looks like pretty much all of the phenom cpu's are. My main question, with around a $300 budget in mind, is where to start? CPU, mobo, graphics card, memory, etc.

Here is what I currently have...I had a local guy build this originally and now would like to start working on this myself. Any suggestions would be great as I'm fairly new to the building aspect (have done plenty of reprogramming, etc.) and looking forward to it.

Thanks for the help in advance! Ryan

" alt="" class="imgLz frmImg " />

More about : upgrade start

November 23, 2011 8:05:23 PM

This is your motherboard correct? http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=...

Assuming your graphics card has worked fine for you so far, I would suggest you get a new processor. And have you looked at how much memory your system is using when your working? If your using 3+ Gigs, you may want to add 4 gb of mem.

I would suggest the AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition ($169.99 at newegg), which is listed to have support for that motherboard. And then you can use the rest to get more memory for your system if you want or need (just make sure you check if your using all 4 dimm slots first).

m
l
a b à CPUs
November 23, 2011 8:06:08 PM

For 300 you can get a Phenom II quad core and a 6850/6870. That's what I'd recommend. What's the PSU though?
m
l
Related resources
November 23, 2011 8:22:40 PM