Status
Not open for further replies.

Guthar

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2011
So I bought and installed a amdx4 965 BE. I'm using the stock heatsink/fan that it came with. I've installed coretemp and I have been monitoring the temp for a few hours now.

Idle it runs at about 44c. Now while I'm typing this its running at 47c. However I just got done playing BF3 on ultra and it was running at 51-53c.

The tjmax according to coretemp is 99c. However I'm still a little worried. Should I be? I'm new to building PCs and I'm worried maybe that its running a little to hot. Would like to know what everyone thinks about this.

If my cpu will be fine running at these temps, I'm fine with it. If not can you please point me in the direction of a good heatsink/fan for this.

Solution
If you've been running your CPU that hot for a long time, it probably doesn't have much life left in it. If this is a recent problem, you may still get a couple of years out of it, kind of depends on how good your luck is. Are you sure the heatsink is mounted properly? The push pins on the intel heatsinks tend to be a bit tricky. The cooler is probably loose. Usually, I put the intel heatsinks on while the motherboard is outside of the case, that way I can check the underside and make sure all the push pins have gone through completely. If the cooler is properly fitted, and you don't intend to upgrade to a new system for a long time to come, definitely get an aftermarket cooler. Otherwise, your CPU will probably die on you some time in...
AMD CPUs are less tolerant to high temperatures than the Intel CPUs. 70 is acceptable for an Intel CPU. For AMD CPUs it is not recommended that you go above 60 degrees celsius. That said, if your temperature monitors are accurate you are fine with a 51 to 53 degree load temperature. That's pretty good for the stock cooler.