Overclocking advice for ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO & amd phenom ii x2 500 BE

cannon_dt

Honorable
Aug 28, 2012
Hello to all the experts!
I am a novice when it comes to Mother boards and memory but right now I am at the juncture where I need some advice.
I have a desktop that has the ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO mother board and I am running it at 4 GB RAM.

Recently while gaming and trying to record the gameplay I could not help but notice that there is a huge lag which kind of led me to the conclusion that I need more RAM.

Now when I checked the motherboard's spec I see
4 x DIMM, Max. 16 GB, DDR3 1800(O.C.)*/1600(O.C.)/1333/1066/800 ECC,Non-ECC,Un-buffered Memory

Now what RAM should I buy - I currently have corsair ddr3 1333. Should I continue with this same memory spec or can I go ahead to 1600 which apparently the mother board supports. I got no clue about oc'ing, so please treat me gently :)

Also I am only keen on performance and dont necessarily want to oc. I am thinking of going up to 16 GB - so should I stick to 1033 or buy 16 GB of 1600 DDR3 RAM?

I hope my question is correct. Also is g skill better or should I stick to corsair? Please consider me as noob and give me all the advice.

Thanks,
Ananth

Solution

Alright, well im glad that you are looking into this stuff. Definitely the better cooler you get, the better off you are going to be. I dont know too much about most of those air coolers that were mentioned in the post except for the Scythe Mugen, i know that one is great. I would say definitely go with what those guys are recommending because they are all very knowledgeable regulars here.

So going into the overclocking:

You are going to want to change three of the values from auto. The CPU/NB Frequency, the processor frequency multiplier, and the CPU/NB...

cannon_dt

Honorable
Aug 28, 2012
Hello experts :)
I am adding some more information, so please help out. I really need some advice.