Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Best Tuner Card?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 22, 2011 8:44:56 PM

I'm new to the who tuner thing but I would love to get one into my pc or one that plugs into usb 2 or 3.0. I'm looking for a very good one as my rig can handle anything really. I don't want a cheap piece of junk. I'm going to be getting another 580 and doubt I will meet the space requirements for a internal one. So I would love to hear any opinions on highly rated cards.

Looking for a card with good features such as pvr, HD, remote control, easy set up and external if possible.

More about : tuner card

June 23, 2011 12:20:45 AM

Look to the HD HomeRun Prime from SiliconDust, due out late July 2011. If you're willing to go with an internal card, look to the Ceton InfiniTV 4 cablecard PCI-E solution.

-Wolf sends
June 23, 2011 12:37:06 AM

Wolfshadw said:
Look to the HD HomeRun Prime from SiliconDust, due out late July 2011. If you're willing to go with an internal card, look to the Ceton InfiniTV 4 cablecard PCI-E solution.

-Wolf sends

Thanks for your response.

I have no room for internal cards as my second 580 will be taking up the rest of the slots from what I can see. I unfortunately cannot use the HD home run as it needs to be used in conjunction with a cable card and my ips "Cogeco" does not offer them. Any other good ones similar to those without the need of a cable card?
Related resources

Best solution

June 23, 2011 2:08:02 AM

Well, without a cablecard option, you're stuck with either an Over-The-Air TV/ClearQAM Tuner or a Set Top Box (from Cogeco) in conjunction with an HD Video Capture unit. This of course assumes that Cogeco is like every other cable company in the country that has encrypted it's cable channels.