Sign in with
Your question
Closed

A6-3400M vs core i5

Last response: in CPUs
November 25, 2011 1:11:50 AM

Hello,

I'm trying to decide between 2 Toshiba laptops: L755-S5356 ($530 or so in a store) and L770D-ST5NX1 from Toshiba online @ $70 more: the latter has 6G/640G/17.3" vs 4G/500G/15.3". The main doubt I have is how the CPUs/cores trade off: a quad-core A6-3400M (2.3GHz, 4MB cache) vs i5-2430M 2.4GHz (3 GHz with Turbo boost) 3MB L3. I think the A6 memory spec refers to L2 and there is no L3 cache, but I'm no expert clearly, and welcome your clarification.

Thanks in advance for any help.

More about : 3400m core

Best solution

a c 93 à CPUs
November 25, 2011 1:25:13 AM

Which one to get is going to be determined by what programs you use. If you have any really CPU intensive programs that don't require a lot of graphics muscle, the i5 is the better choice, as it is much faster than the APU on CPU intensive task. The i5 laptop has Intel's HD 3000 integrated graphics. The A6 3400m has the Radeon HD 6520G integrated graphics. The AMD IGP is significantly faster in gaming than intel's offering, though on modern titles it only will do low settings, but you have a much better chance of getting playable framerates than you will out of intel's IGP. If you want to do some light gaming on this laptop and you don't need a lot of CPU horsepower for anything else, the A6 maybe be a better choice.

I have a very similar laptop from Toshiba myself with the A6 and it performs all the basic office tasks, web browsing and video playback just fine. If that's all you're doing plus maybe some light gaming it's a good choice. For general tasks such as that, the i5 won't be any faster, you're going to be bottlenecked by hard drive speed long before CPU speed becomes an issue in those applications. You wouldn't see any real difference in day to day use with the i5 over the A6 unless you got an SSD for the laptop.
a c 471 à CPUs
November 25, 2011 1:26:46 AM