Tons of questions about Crossfire, SLI, PhysX, and more :o

reaper2794

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2010
Hello all. I want to say thank you ahead of time for reading this thread.

I want to say really quick, Id appreciate it if you guys answered by QUOTING this, picking the questions you can answer, and just making your answers BOLD under my questions, if you guys did that thatd be great!

How much wattage would you guys recommend for a build with 2 x 6870s and an i5-2500K processor?

What motherboards would you guys recommend for crossfiring, either dual x8 or dual x16 that are not too expensive? The more suggestions I could get the better.

Thing is, Im not too experienced with picking video cards, I find myself picking the 6870 again and again for others because I cant find cards that are a lot better unless its $150 more, and that gives like 10-15 FPS, which I dont think is needed if the 6870 outputs 60+ FPS on a 1920 x 1200 res for a game like BC2, maybe you guys can give me different viewpoints on this?

How do 2 x 6870s sound? They have AMAZING performance for the price, very nice budget card in my opinion, I cant seem to justify any other card above that because the performance boost for the price difference just isnt worth it, anyone care to correct me? I dont know much about nVidias cards

Also, how hard is taking apart a video card and applying thermal paste on it? Does it make a big difference, I would assume it would?

Other than the 6870, what cards would you guys recommend crossfiring/SLI...ing >_>?

[strike]I had a question about the performance different on a motherboard that has 2 x8 PCI-E slots vs a mobo with 2 x16 slots, is there really that big of a difference? Is it worth getting a mobo that has 2 x16 slots, or is the performance boost minimal? I know they're quite a bit more expensive if Im not mistaken (ANSWERED)

Also, I believe SLI and Crossfire can support up to 4 cards at a time am I right? If not how many for each? (ANSWERED)